The Letters Of Paul The Apostle

By admin

Saint Paul wrote all of the epistles (or letters) that we now have in the Bible. The letters of Paul (or Corpus Paulinum) constitute those epistles traditionally attributed to Paul. Their names are based on the Christian groups or individuals to whom they are addressed.

Is also thought that Paul (also called Saul in the book of Acts) may have written the book of Hebrews, but that is debated with many Christian scholars. It is possible that Luke, whom also wrote the St. Paul's letters, may have written Hebrews based on the tradition taught by Paul.

It is also believed by some that it was not Apostle Paul the wrote some of the Epistles but scribes that did the writing.

But despite who wrote the letters of Paul factually, it still remains that is was Paul the Apostle that was driving force behind each letter. And these letters, and Paul’s personal testimony in the land of the gentiles and Rome which caused the founding of the Catholic and thus the Christian churches that we have today around the world.

Below you will see the 12 letters of Paul and the book of Hebrews. These letters account for over half the New Testament that we have today:

  • Romans
  • I Corinthians
  • II Corinthians
  • Galatians
  • Ephesians
  • Philippians
  • I Thessalonians
  • II Thessalonians
  • I Timothy
  • II Timothy
  • Titus
  • Philemon
  • Hebrews — Anonymous, traditionally attributed to Paul.

The epistles were circulated in the Christian community and read aloud by church members along with other works. Paul’s epistles were viewed from early times as scripture and later established as Canon of Scripture. Critical scholars regard the letters of Paul, which were written between 50 and 62 AD, to be the earliest books of the New Testament. They are referenced as early as c. 96 by Clement of Rome.

Category: Apostle Paul

Leave a Reply